Thanksgiving Remix

Carrying on with the theme of using fall and Thanksgiving flavors in different ways, I wanted to really step out of the box on this one.

And boy did I, on a number of levels. First, I’d never had Brussels sprouts before. Ever. I wouldn’t say it is because I was afraid of them or had some traumatic experience as a child that left me hating all things green, in fact, I like greens quite a bit (I am from the South, after all). My family simply never cooked them. Before a little Googling, I had no idea what to even do with them.

Second, I knew that my husband really hates Brussels sprouts. Making something he’d even consider trying was going to require some creative thinking for sure.

I decided the best possible way to approach the situation was to combine something that lands far beyond “strong dislike” with something that ranks at “highly enjoy” on the food preference continuum.

I needed to find a way to package the Brussels sprouts that brought out the best of their qualities, while minimizing the less desirable ones. With potstickers often having a cabbage filling, and Brussels sprouts being mini cabbages themselves, realized I just might be on to something.

Finely shredding the sprouts really adds a nice, delicate texture and balance to the crispy-on-the-outside, soft-on-the-inside potstickers to come in for the win on this one, and the flavor of the sauce and the sprouts is sensational.

Next time you’re up for a mini food adventure, I highly recommend giving these a try.

Brussels Sprouts Potstickers

¼ pound Brussels sprouts, washed and trimmed (enough for about 3 cups of Brussels sprout “slaw”)

½ large onion

6 strips of bacon, cut into small slices

12 oz package of dumpling wrappers

1 egg white

salt and pepper

canola oil

water

Dipping Sauce:

1 tbsp. Sriracha chili sauce

¼ cup soy sauce

1 tbsp. rice wine vinegar

1 tsp sesame oil

2 tbsp. sugar

Shred the Brussels sprouts and onion as finely as possible (I used a mandolin and highly recommend it) and combine in a bowl.

Fry the bacon pieces in a skillet until crispy and brown, remove from the skillet and set aside to drain.

Using the leftover bacon drippings, turn the skillet to medium heat and add Brussels sprouts, onions and salt and pepper. Cook the sprouts and onions until they turn bright green and slightly soften—do not overcook or the filling will become mushy as it will still steam again inside the potstickers.

Put the sprouts and onions in a bowl and toss with bacon pieces. Spoon about a tablespoon of the filling onto the center of the dumpling wrapper, brush the edges with egg white and seal. Make sure the edges are sealed tightly and cover with plastic wrap to keep them from drying out.

When you are ready to cook, heat about 3 tablespoons of oil in a non-stick pan with a lid until it is hot but not smoking. Add the potstickers – in one layer, with plenty of room in between, and allow them to fry for about 1 minute. Then carefully (with lid in hand) add ¼ cup of water and cover to steam for about three minutes (the oil will splatter and pop, so be careful!) Uncover the potstickers and allow to cook for about another minute, until any remaining liquid has evaporated. You can flip them to brown both sides at this point, if desired. Repeat with the next batch of potstickers.

Serve with dipping sauce.

Makes about 50.

