Sometimes you need food.  Fast.  Or, you need to get food on the table for someone else, doubly as fast.  Why is it that these situations always arise when you’re already crazy busy?

Well, I ran into this very problem Saturday night.  After spending all day studying for school, I was eagerly anticipating a girl’s night out later on.  My fiancé was also headed home from a camping trip and I’d promised a home-cooked meal upon his arrival.

Of course, being me, I completely spaced out while reading, and didn’t pay attention to the time.  Before I knew it, there were only 30 minutes between me, my hungry camper’s arrival and needing to be dressed and ready to walk out the door.

I had to think fast.  Even though my fiancé isn’t a huge fan of fish, I knew he’d go for this recipe– he’d taste-tested it months ago.

So, here’s one for all of you to try in a pinch.  Like the title suggests, it’s deceptively simple and ridiculously good!  I served mine with asparagus and brown rice.

BrownSugarSalmon

Baked Brown-Sugar Salmon
From Meghan Pembleton’s “Make it Quick”

  • 2 boneless, skinless salmon fillets (about 4 ounces each)
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. pepper
  • 3 tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. soy sauce
  • 1 tsp. rice vinegar

Heat oven to 425 degrees.  Place salmon on a foil-lined baking sheet; season with salt and pepper.  Bake 6 minutes per side.  Meanwhile, combine brown sugar, soy sauce and vinegar in a small, microwave-safe cup or bowl and stir until blended. Microwave on high 30 seconds, then stir.  Remove salmon from oven.  Turn oven to broil and position rack about 6 inches from broiler.  Brush glaze on salmon, then broil 1 to 2 minutes.

